The Good, The Bad… and The Ugly

The Good: I seem to be able to hack my way through a 50k on inadequate training.

The Bad: I have learned that I CAN hack my way through a 50k on inadequate training.

The Ugly: Next weekend, I am going to hack my way through a 50k on inadequate training; and, I am going to do it in new shoes.

After being sick, traveling to Seattle and having friends in town… my long run training has been derailed slightly.  Added on top of that, one more attempt at getting a long run in today was quickly thwarted by a sluggish and reluctant body, really muddy trails and the worst air quality I’ve seen in a city since living in Lima.   (Knock on wood) I’m going to try to pull one more rabbit from the hat and go up very early to Park City and get out of the smog “inversion” and hack some semblance of a long run in before I ski.  It’s weeks like this, where I feel like crap (then eat like crap, run like crap, and repeat on way too old of shoes to perpetuate the cycle) that I don’t know how I’m possibly going to make it 100 miles.  Hopefully next weekend at Chuckanut has something more positive in store.

Leave a Reply

